YEAR OF ESTABLISHMENT:  6th September, 1985


  • ◈ To achieve excellence in Higher Education
  • ◈ Empower students through knowledge


This college is trying to adapt itself a new way of thinking. The semi-urban location of the college caters to needs of students who come from the grass-root level: some of them are even first generation learners.

  • ◈ Enrichment of collegiate education by providing learners most updated knowledge and services in Science, Arts and Commerce subjects.
  • ◈To organize vocational training in different career oriented courses for the students to help them acquire additional skill which is necessary either for self-employment or to make them more eligible for jobs in a competitive market.
  • ◈ To develop a new outlook of the taught so that they can prepare themselves to cope with the rapidly changing academic scenario.
  • ◈To maintain a congenial and healthy atmosphere in the institution for all round development of mind and body of our students.


College Photo 01

    Sonarpur Mahavidyalaya is a co-educational Degree College. It was established in 1985 and it had been duly accredited by National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC), Bangalore. The college was founded on 6th September, 1985. This college was included under 2(f) of UGC on 4th March, 1993 and also included under 12(B) of UGC on 26th February, 1998. As a consequence of a long drawn mass movement in the early seventies of the last century led by liberal democratic and education loving people of the locality. As a result of the mass movement of the local people, a preparatory committee was formed under the leadership of Sri Santimoy Bhattacharya. The committee requested the Rajpur Municipality, now renamed as Rajpur-Sonarpur Municipality provided the necessary land and people from all walks of life in the locality donated generously to raise a building for the new institution. Since then the utmost endeavour of the college has been the constant up gradation of its strengths and resources. It is affiliated to the University of Calcutta, which offers a wide range of subjects and facilities to its learners. Three well equipped faculties namely Science, Arts and Commerce have set a high watermark of teaching and learning which is certainly in tune with the heritage of the land.
    Being the erstwhile centre of the 19th century Bengal renaissance this region is the birth place of luminaries like Dwarkanath Vidyabhusan, the editor of Bengali weekly ‘Somprakash’, Rajnarayan Bose, the Father of Indian nationalism and Ramnarayan Tarakratna who authored the first Bengali drama’ Kulin Kulasarbaswa’. The ancestral village of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose is not far from the college. Such a rich academic and cultural heritage provides a solid foundation to this seat of learning and with the active involvement of a group of committed teachers and non-teaching staff this institution is surging ahead. Its progress has been rightly recognized by NAAC.


The college started its journey in 1985 with 6 departments in the arts faculty offering general (pass) course. A policy of steady academic expansion pursued subsequently resulted in the institution having 23 departments in various discipline of Arts, Science and Commerce as follows:

Sl. No. Name of the Course Year of Commencement
1 B.A. General 1985
2 B.Com. General 1991
3 Bengali (Honours) 1995
4 B.A. General with Geography 1995
5 B.Com. (Honours) 1999
6 History (Honours) 1999
7 B.Sc. General (Bio) 1999
8 Zoology (General) 1999
9 Botany (General) 1999
10 Geography (Honours) 1999
11 Physiology (Honours) 2004
12 English (Honours) 2004
13 Philosophy (Honours) 2004
14 Education (Honours) 2005
15 Computer Science (Honours) 2006
16 B.Sc. General (Computer Sc.) 2008
17 Mathematics (General) 2008
18 Physics (General) 2008
19 Sociology (General) 2009
20 Economics (General) 2009
21 Physical Education (Gen) 2009
22 Political Science (Hons) 2015
23 Mathematics (Honours) 2017